Resolutions for Monkey Year

Singapore just finished celebrating the lunar new year holiday last week. For those of you who don’t know ‘Lunar New Year’ or Chinese New year is  two week holiday  celebrate in China, Taiwan ,Singapore and other countries with a large ethnically-Chinese population. In Singapore there is a 2 day public holiday to honor the CNY. 2015 was the year of the Sheep, and this new year is the year of the Monkey. According to my coworker , since I am a Sheep it is a good thing that I moved around a lot last year( three countries, one year!) – it means that bad luck cant find me.

I celebrated the January 1st new year this year in Wisconsin with family . I made resolutions , I fell asleep early. Im ringing in the Monkey year in Singapore- in a new office, with new (ish) coworkers and a new ( ish) job. I thought it would be a good idea to use this as a chance to reflect on what I want to the coming year and from my time in Singapore.

  1. Taking time to enjoy Singapore.

I work a lot, and that’s OK but I don’t want to look back on this year , or this time in Singapore and think “man I should have taken better advantage of being in Singapore”. Warts, caveats ,and  addendums in-all- I live on a tropical island. A tropical island that is also a large and diverse city with a rich (if short) history.

2.  Meet people.

(outside of work) And yes, Im an introvert, so this takes effort.

3. Develop work life balance.

I’m at the beginning of my career so now is the time to set the tone and find a balance that works for me. I like my job, sometimes I even love it;  but it cant be my life. Been there , done that.

 So far- I can honestly say I really love living in Singapore. I’ve found a home ( yay!) and settled into a routine. There’s always something to do on the weekends, a new restaurant to try or place to visit, even though Singapore is small , if feels big after living in so many small towns. Sometimes it seemed like no mater where in the world I lived it was always going to be a small town. I seem to have broken the curse by moving to a country that is also a large city.

I think if I can stick to the resolutions above the year of the Monkey might be my first where I stay in one place for a while 🙂

image2

Not related to the Monkey year- but a cool picture of some art in Singapore. 

 

Leave a Reply

